Academic Positions Europe

Aix-Marseille University (AMU)

Aix-Marseille University (AMU) (French: Université d'Aix-Marseille) is a public research university located in Provence, southern France. With roots dating back to 1409, the University was formed by the merger of the University of Provence, the University of the Mediterranean and Paul Cézanne University. The merger became effective on 1 January 2012, resulting in the creation of the largest university in France and the French-speaking world, with about 70,000 students. AMU has the largest financial endowment of any academic institution in France, standing at €650 million.

The University is organized around five main campuses situated in Aix-en-Provence and Marseille. Apart from its major campuses, AMU owns and operates facilities in Arles, Aubagne, Avignon, Digne-les-Bains, Gap, La Ciotat, Lambesc andSalon-de-Provence.[14] The University is headquartered at the Pharo, Marseille.

AMU has produced many notable alumni in the fields of law, politics, business, economics and literature. To date, there have been 4 Nobel Laureates amongst its alumni and faculty, as well as several heads of state, parliamentary speakers, government ministers, ambassadors and members of the French Academy. In the 2012 Academic Ranking of World Universities (ARWU) the University was ranked 101-150th in the world, making it the 4th highest ranked university in France.


Aix-Marseille University is organized into five sectors:

  • Law and Political Science
    • Faculty of Law and Political Science
    • Institute of Public Management and Territorial Governance
  • Economics and Management
    • Faculty of Economics and Management
    • Journalism and Communication School of Marseille
    • Institute of Business Administration of Aix-en-Provence
    • Regional Institute of Labour
  • Arts, Literature, Languages and Human Sciences
    • Faculty of Arts, Literature, Languages and Human Sciences
    • Training Centre for Musicians
    • The Mediterranean House of Human Sciences
  • Health
    • Faculty of Medicine
    • Faculty of Odontology
    • Faculty of Pharmacy
    • Midwives' University School Marseille Méditerranée
  • Sciences and Technology
    • Faculty of Sciences
    • Faculty of Sports
    • Observatory of Universe Sciences – Pytheas Institute
    • Polytech Marseille

In addition, three University Institutes of Technology and University Institute for Teachers Training are part of the University.

Jobs at Aix-Marseille University (AMU)

Other employers